REVIEW: CHAMELEON MOON

Chameleon Moon (written by RoAnna Sylver)

FOUR OUT OF FIVE STARS

 I loved this book so much.

I’ve been attempting to read more indie books and authors, and as I follow Sylver on Twitter I thought this would be a good place to start and I’m so glad I took the chance. I love this book, I love it in so many ways that it’s hard to describe. But I’ll try!

I love that this book is fearless.

When you read a lot of genre (like I do) you get used to a set of tropes and borders in stories. There are certain things you know that different genres will do–whether it’s SciFi or Fantasy–you know the edges, the general outline. But “Chameleon Moon” is so much different. It’s so BRAVE, like…I suppose you could classify it as a SciFi or dystopian story but it’s more. There are elements of fantasy, of superhero fiction, romance, even a healthy dose of gothic imagery and storytelling. And you’d think it’d be a mess, right? But it’s not! Sylver doesn’t seem to believe in borders or genre outlines and it’s so amazing to read a book that isn’t afraid to tell its story with whatever tools are available.

I love that this book is soft.

By that I mean, I love that the characters in this book speak gently to one another. Even when things are bad, or scary, or hopeless, the characters are never cruel. They’re never snappy or snarky just for the hell of it, they’re never needlessly morose or macabre. They’re people and they love one another so strongly and it actually comes across that way. Sylver is unafraid to show her characters deeply and gently caring about each other–whether romantically, platonically, or as family (or all three!). I love that I could read this book without wincing once at something a character says to another character. I love that I felt safe with the people Sylver creates.

I love this book because it’s diverse. Of course. I love how many different types of love are portrayed. I adore the various ways sacrifices are presented, how love is at once selfish and selfless, personal and universal. I love that the relationships don’t exist to cause drama, or that plot is unnecessarily propelled along by hatred or intolerance. I love that this book exists as a model for the many ways we can fall in love or be with other people. It’s amazing and natural and wonderful.

I could probably go on forever tbh but I’ll leave it at this: read this book. It has everything I wanted and things I didn’t even know I wanted but I’m so glad to have. I want more books like this immediately. I’m so happy that it exists.

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: CHAMELEON MOON

Leave a Reply

